PATH400 and GA-DOT Win National People’s Choice Award

Congratulations to Georgia DOT and PATH 400 on winning the national People’s Choice Transportation Award!   We would like to thank the Georgia DOT and all of our PATH supporters who voted to help us win this award.

(Message courtesy of Georgia DOT)

PATH 400 transformed a right-of-way along GA 400 into a 5.2-mile bikeable and walkable greenway that provides a beautiful and safe path for citizens to enjoy. PATH 400 was one of just 12 projects from across the country that were selected in regional competitions to compete for the national award. This is truly a proud moment for Georgia and GDOT.

Not only will winning this national recognition provide Georgia with a spotlight on our innovation and ability to transform what was thought to be unusable land into a beautiful greenway, it will also mean GDOT will receive a $10,000 cash prize that will be donated to the PATH Foundation for their incredible work and support of pedestrian safety – an initiative the Georgia DOT works hard to promote and one that we know is of great importance to the people of Georgia.

(from America’s Transportation Awards News Release)

The Georgia Department of Transportation’s $9.3 million 400 Trail (PATH 400) project was voted the Socrata People’s Choice Award winner in the 11th annual America’s Transportation Awards competition.

“We applaud all of this year’s nominees, especially the Georgia Department of Transportation for receiving the highest number of online votes and taking home this year’s Socrata People’s Choice Award,” said Patrick Farley, director of government affairs, data and insights for Tyler Technologies, Inc.  “GDOT’s 400 Trail project is bringing communities in Atlanta closer together in a healthy and sustainable way.”

Presented at the AASHTO Annual Meeting in Atlanta, the Grand Prize and Socrata People’s Choice awards each came with $10,000 cash prizes to be used to support a charity or transportation-related scholarship program. Learn more about the contest and this year’s entries at